Our Team

DC Forensic Nurse Examiners (DCFNE) is a 501(c)3 non-profit, specialty organization formed in 2013 to improve both the health and outcome of victims of violence in the District of Columbia by providing comprehensive and patient-centered medical forensic care.  We integrate the best available scientific evidence into our practice.

DCFNE provides clinical and financial administration as well as forensic nurses 24/7 for the DC Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner Program and the DC Intimate Partner Violence Program. We are funded largely by the Executive Office of the Mayor, Office of Victim Services.


Executive Director
Colleen Gallopin, Esq.

Nursing Director
Jana French, MS, BSN, RN, SANE-A

Clinical Manager                                                                                                                                                                 Nicole Stahlmann MN, RN, SANE-A, AFN-BC

Clinical Manager                                                                                                                                                            Erin Pollitt, MHA, BSN, RN, FNE-A, SANE-A

Community Partnerships Manager
Sarah Mullen

DCFNE employs between 20-25 nurses who respond 24/7 to conduct medical forensic exams.

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors includes:

  • Noreen McGrath, President
  • Kennedy Segler, Vice President
  • Matt Parkinson, Secretary
  • Mark Dickson, Treasurer
  • Barbra Chikowore
  • Janice Conner
  • Amy Mathis
  • Meghan O’Brien
  • Cherryl Sullivan
  • Heather Kesler DeVore, M.D., Executive Director